SHA-3 was known as Keccak and is a hash function designed by Guido Bertoni, Joan Daemen, Michaël Peeters, and Gilles Van Assche. MD5 and SHA-0 have been shown to be susceptible to attacks, along with theoretical attacks on SHA-1. NIST thus defined there was a need for a new hashing method which did not use the existing methods for hashing, and setup a competition for competing algorithms. In October 2012, Keccak won the NIST hash function competition, and is proposed as the SHA-3 standard. It should be noted that it is not replacement SHA-2, which is currently a secure methods. Overall Keccak uses the sponge construction where the message blocks are XORed into the initial bits of the state, and then invertibly permuted.

I tried many libraries for this, but this is the only one which actually gives the right answer:

Web page

One standard test is:

The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog

which should give:


Here is an example:

The quick brown …


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s